When making an art batt the second thing to consider is the colors that will go into it. I look at the batt as a canvas that I’m painting on and add the colors to affect the total image.  I usually pick one of my merino wool top braids or farm wool which has been hand dyed in 3 or more colors  and add to it secondary colors which add darkness or light, this depends on what colors you are working with.   This is the only rule I have when picking or considering colors to use in a art batt.

There are other ways to pick colors you can observe nature, you can choose the minimalist way and go for a few colors, just know that this will limit your composition/picture/batt.  You can use the color wheel to select the colors that complement each other, or you can buy a color card by Gail Callahan “Color grid” to help you in selecting colors for your batt.  This card is useful because of it helps you to choose a color, identify your base colors close relatives and lots more.  I have used this card in the past.  But since I love to experiment with colors,  I tend to go with my intuition.  Some of these batt will be spun into art yarn and some will be placed for sale on my website or my Hoppitty angora store on etsy.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

All of these art batt pictured here have lots of either natural or hand dyed angora fiber plus any of these :  merino top, wool curls, bamboo, silk, Firestar, silk noils, Angelina, fabric, novelty yarns, silk threads, kid mohair.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

