It is cold out side again today. I had to wear my barn coat when I went out this afternoon to feed our Angora bunnies after another day of working on making puni rolags.  I made rolags in the past two days and today I’m finished; I used up all the merino top hand dyed rovings I had.  I included a few pictures of the rolags. As you can see, I was thinking about a fiber show I’ll be at on April 26.

Angora & Merino Puni Rolag
Angora & Merino Puni Rolag

 

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAThat is this Saturday 4/26/2014, all day. It is called the New Jersey Needle Art Fest.  It is held in Pluckemin, NJ. at a Presbyterian church in the center of town. That is where 100 – 160 ladies gather for a day of needle work.  Some use knitting needles and many others bring their cross stitching projects and other embroidering work.  We get free coffee and donuts / bagels and later on we get a great lunch, all included in the price.  I get to show my handspun  yarns, accessories, rolags and talk with many talented ladies.  I think the rolags with angora spin so easily. I plan on making a whole bunch of them. You see, the angora fibers tend to get onto my clothes when I spin in the winter because of the dry air and the static electricity.  So the fibers will take a walk with me anywhere in my house and hop onto anyone who comes near. But with the rolag, the fibers are in a cocoon state, all wrapped up, and will only come out to be spun when you draft it.  I also like the rolags because they will transport easily when I go to the other fiber festivals in the fall.  They kind of remind me of old fashion candy sticks, the ones that used to sell for a penny back in the 1800’s.

 

 

