I first bought my first pair of English Angora Bunnies in Sept. of 1998, I was very familiar with rabbits because my children who were at the time from 11 to 2years old, were members of 4H and so we all learned how to care for any bunny and specially for our wonderful angora bunnies. We had at the time a American Fuzzy lop, Jersey wooly, Netherland dwarf, and mini lop. SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I saw the English Angoras on an article on Woman’s magazine. I looked for one, but ended up getting two.  Yes , angora bunnies do require a lot of care; they require at least a 6 square foot cage, especially when they are young, and later on a 4 square foot cage is fine, since they don’t run as much when they get older.  They require a clean environment; that means you must remove any manure from their cage when you see it, and they must have water available all the time.  I feed my bunnies rabbit pellet and herbs on a schedule, as near as possible to sundown.

I find myself always thinking about how they would behave in nature. The Angora bunnies, which originally come from  Ankara, Turkey, have been domesticated since the time of the Babylonians. These bunnies would not survive out in the wild.  They have been bred for many years for domestic purposes, and they need to be kept by us humans.  But they are so sweet and friendly, how could we not keep them? Then consider their soft fiber- the softest in the world-and their future is secured.

They usually live 8 to 11 years and they mellow out as time goes by.  My bunnies are pedigree, which means that I have a record of every bunny’s Birth date and its parents, grandparents, great grand parents, going back for many generations now. I do try to include a new blood line into my genetic tree, so I have on occasion purchased a pedigree angora from another breeder. I’ve also received many rescue bunnies into our rabbitry over the years.SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The most important thing you I do for our bunnies is to remove their angora coat at the right time. You see the English & French angora bunnies shed their coats easily, any where from 3 to 5 months. You must make sure that they are shedding their coats before you comb it out. I comb their fibers off  with a comb or brush.  If you have any German angora then you have to clip or shear off their coats. I clip their coats off as they sit on my lap.

Then when all the fiber is removed, I clip their nails carefully. Then I give them a carrot or 1/2 an apple and return them to their home.  Then the cycle starts again, I remove their fibers when the bunny needs it remove so I usually get a staple length of 3 to 6 inches depending on the bunny and it’s age. As far the amount of fiber you get, well it varies with each bunny, any where between 4 oz. for the English and French to 10 oz for the German Angora. Now the German  & some of the French has a thicker guard hair than the English. That is the hair that is the fur part of their coats and the angora fine fibers grow around the guard hair. I prefer the English Angora.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

